The Alberta Department of Telephones has completed the installation of multichannel microwave systems from Edmonton to Peace River and Edson, respectively. It has also expanded the existing radio services which it provides throughout the Province of Alberta. The Saskatchewan Government Telephones in the Province of Saskatchewan and the Manitoba Telephone System in the Province of Manitoba are constructing major microwave extensions to serve the Yorkton and Estevan areas in Saskatchewan and the Flin Flon and The Pas areas in Manitoba. In addition, the Manitoba Telephone System has completed a microwave extension from Winnipeg to Fargo, North Dakota, in cooperation with the United States common carrier in that State.

The Pacific Great Eastern Railway Company has inaugurated service on a multichannel microwave system in the interior of British Columbia extending from Clinton to the Fort St. John/Dawson Creek area.

Restricted common carrier mobile radio systems for the provision of public communication service to land vehicles have been established in all major centres throughout Canada.

## Subsection 7.—Radio and Television Broadcasting

Broadcasting in Canada as it has developed over a period of some forty years is a combination of public and private enterprise. Under the Broadcasting Act, proclaimed Nov. 11, 1958, authority for the national broadcasting system is vested in a Board of Broadcast Governors, consisting of three full-time members and twelve part-time members appointed by the Governor in Council. Under the Act, this Board is empowered to "regulate the establishment and operation of networks of broadcasting stations, the activities of public and private broadcasting stations in Canada and the relationship between them and provide for the final determination of all matters and questions in relation thereto". The powers of the Board of Broadcast Governors include making and enforcing of broadcasting regulations, recommending to the Governor in Council on licensing matters, and ruling on matters of dispute between broadcasters.

Part II of the Broadcasting Act provides authority for the publicly owned Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. The Corporation, consisting of a President and a Vice-President and nine other directors appointed by Governor in Council, is established "for the purpose of operating a national broadcasting service" CBC is accountable to Parliament through a Cabinet Minister designated by Governor in Council. The CBC is empowered to establish and maintain program networks and stations.

As of Mar. 31, 1958, there were 22 CBC radio stations and 10 CBC television stations; 98 privately owned radio stations and 36 privately owned television stations. All the privately owned television stations and many of the privately owned radio stations are affiliated with the CBC and help to distribute national radio and television services over five networks operated by the CBC—in radio, the Trans-Canada, French and Dominion networks, and in television, the English and French networks.

Radio Broadcasting Facilities.—As stated above, the CBC operates three networks: the Trans-Canada and Dominion networks serving English language audiences from the Atlantic to the Pacific, and the French language network extending from Moncton, N.B., to Edmonton, Alta. As at Mar. 31, 1958, the Trans-Canada network was made up of 26 basic stations—13 CBC-owned and 13 privately owned. There were 19 supplementary stations, four of which were CBC-owned Newfoundland stations. The Dominion network consisted of 31 basic stations of which 30 were privately owned. Nineteen supplementary privately owned stations also received Dominion network service. The French network had five basic stations, four of which were CBC-owned and one privately owned, and 20 privately owned affiliated supplementary stations.

Table 9 lists the broadcasting stations of the CBC radio networks.